Monkey Bread

I made Monkey bread for the first time.  I really do not know why it is called Monkey Bread- it is such a weird name!  Can you imagine little monkeys picking at it like they do each other.  I think that is why they named it that!!  It was super good though!  Joel would have liked more sugar and butter but the boys sure gobbled it up!

What i did was use my white bread recipe, then i made a big fat snake.  The snake was ripped into hunks and rolled in melted butter, then rolled in a brown sugar cinnamon mixture.  Sounds so good eh!  After that they were dumped in my new loaf pan and baked like normal bread!!

I just want to say that it really was as good as it looked!

Next time i will make the pieces bite size instead of 5 bite size and i think Joel will like them better and pour some melted butter and a bit of cream over the top when i bake them!  Yum.

I want these to be for breakfast, that would make me so happy!! To do this i think i can freeze the dough unrisen and pull it out let it thaw, and rise, and bake!  Easy-peasy!!

About ddnoble

stay at home mom with 3 busy boys, and a suber fab hubby!

2 responses to “Monkey Bread”

  1. debb says :

    Pretty sure your dad NEEDS this monkey bread to make a complete recovery 😀

  2. trinac says :

    I did this yesterday with my leftover bun dough. Mmmm…they are so delish. Rebecca decided we should call it “Cinnamon Balls” (sometimes we call banana bread “monkey bread”.) I ate some for breakfast today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

